The International Panel

The International Panel is a group of six to nine international experts selected from around the world to provide an impartial assessment on the technical merit of the shortlisted papers.

Each International Panel member serves for a maximum of three consecutive years, but can be selected to serve another, non-consecutive period. The Chair is appointed by CBMM and is not governed by the three year rule.

Since the inception of the Award, 88 eminent metallurgists have served on the panel and several of our panel members are themselves past award winners.

Download Panel Members 1979 to 2020

Current Panel Members

The International Panel adjudicating the Award in 2020 consists of the following experts:

Dr. Mike Hicks

Chair of the International Panel // UK

Dr. Alec Mitchell

 University of British Columbia // Canada

Professor Delia Milliron

 The University of Texas // USA

John Beswick

SKF Aerospace // France

Dr. Jun Takahashi

Nippon Steel & Sumitomo Metal Corporation // Japan

Dr. Nuria Sanchez

ArcelorMittal Global R&D // Belgium

Dr. Wilian Labiapari

Aperam Research Center // Brazil

The 2020 Panellists' Biographies

Latest News

News Alerts

Be part of our community. We’ll keep you up to date with all the latest news & events relating to Charles Hatchett & Niobium.


Resource Library

Access videos, winning papers and presentations related to the Charles Hatchett Award and the seminars.


Subscribe to our news alerts

Keep up-to-date with the latest news regarding the Charles Hatchett Award.

To Top